Sunday, 18 December 2016

FoodAdvisor Malaysia Infringe Johor Kaki Intellectual Property

FoodAdvisor

I recently stumbled upon FoodAdvisor, a website based in Malaysia, and am saddened that many of my photographs are used in their "Best in Johor Bahru" series of articles without my permission, without my knowledge. FoodAdvisor published many of my intellectual property on their website, as if it is their own.

Here are a few examples of FoodAdvisor's infringement of Johor Kaki's intellectual property right. I do not have the energy nor the inclination to trace and list out all of them - it will take too much effort and too much time, not to mention mentally draining.

In the examples below, the picture used by Advisor is at the top and the original Johor Kaki picture is at the bottom.

FoodAdvisor

From Advisor article "Best Laksa in Johor" http://www.foodadvisor.my/best-laksa-in-johor. The original Johor Kaki photo is from http://johorkaki.blogspot.com/2012/10/laksa-johor-bumbu-asli-in-kolam-ayer.html.

FoodAdvisor

The original Johor Kaki photo is from http://johorkaki.blogspot.com/2013/05/laksa-at-sam-kong-restaurant-in-kampung.html.

FoodAdvisor

From the Advisor article "Best Nasi Lemak in Johor Bahru" http://www.foodadvisor.my/best-nasi-lemak-johor-bahru. The original Johor Kaki photo is from http://johorkaki.blogspot.com/2013/01/32-melaka-nasi-lemak-at-777-food-centre.html.

FoodAdvisor

The original Johor Kaki photo is from http://johorkaki.blogspot.com/2015/05/laksa-johor-nasi-lemak-at-warong-hijau.html. Advisor cropped off my watermark.

FoodAdvisor

The Advisor article "Best Bak Kut Teh in Johor Bahru" http://www.foodadvisor.my/best-bak-kut-teh-jb. The original photo is taken from http://johorkaki.blogspot.com/2012/01/bak-kut-teh-kiang-kee-restaurant-off.html.

FoodAdvisor

The Advisor article "Best Chicken Wings in Johor Bahru" http://www.foodadvisor.my/best-chicken-wings-jb. The original photo is taken from http://johorkaki.blogspot.com/2012/12/bbq-chicken-wings-at-cedar-point-food.htmlAdvisor cropped off my watermark.

FoodAdvisor-Malaysia

From Advisor article "Best Steaks in Johor" http://www.foodadvisor.my/best-steaks-in-johor. The original photo is taken from http://johorkaki.blogspot.com/2014/08/grill-bar-steak-house-in-johor-bahru.htmlAdvisor removed my watermark with photo editing software.

FoodAdvisor

The Advisor article "Best Rib in Johor Bahru" http://www.foodadvisor.my/best-rib-in-johor-bahru-jb. The original photo is taken from http://johorkaki.blogspot.com/2013/10/johor-tomahawk-steak-at-lazio-italian.html. Advisor removed my watermark with photo editing software.

FoodAdvisor

The Advisor article "Best Fish Head Curry in Johor Bahru" http://www.foodadvisor.my/best-curry-fish-head-in-johor-bahru. The original photo is taken from http://johorkaki.blogspot.com/2012/12/curry-fish-head-at-restoran-jay-bee.htmlAdvisor removed my watermark with photo editing software.

FoodAdvisor

The Advisor article "Best Roasted Chicken in Johor Bahru" http://www.foodadvisor.my/best-roasted-chicken-in-johor-bahru-jb. The original photo is taken from http://johorkaki.blogspot.com/2013/11/johor-chicken-rice-at-in-taman-ungku.htmlAdvisor cropped off my watermark.

FoodAdvisor

The Advisor article "Best Pisang Goreng in Johor Bahru" http://www.foodadvisor.my/best-pisang-goreng-in-johor. The original photo is taken from http://johorkaki.blogspot.com/2012/09/pisang-mawar-in-johor-bahru-malaysia.html.

FoodAdvisor

The Advisor article "Best Burgers in Johor Bahru" http://www.foodadvisor.my/best-burgers-johor-bahru. The original photo is taken from http://johorkaki.blogspot.com/2012/10/ramly-burger-blitz-in-johor-bahru.html.

FoodAdvisor

The Advisor article "Best Duck Rice in Johor Bahru" http://www.foodadvisor.my/best-duck-rice-in-johor-bahru-jb. The original photo is taken from http://johorkaki.blogspot.com/2012/02/roast-duck-restoran-you-kee-xo.html.

FoodAdvisor

The Advisor article "Best Coffees in Johor Bahru" http://www.foodadvisor.my/best-coffee-jb. The original photo is taken from http://johorkaki.blogspot.com/2013/11/my-liberica-specialty-coffee-at-taman.htmlAdvisor cropped off my watermark.

FoodAdvisor

The FoodAdvisor article "Best Lasagnas in Johor Bahru" http://www.foodadvisor.my/best-lasagna-jb. The original photo is taken from http://johorkaki.blogspot.com/2014/04/vivo-pizza-panini-at-setia-tropika.htmlFoodAdvisor removed my watermark with photo editing software and also rotated the photo.

I am stopping here as I am drained and exhausted by this.

Date: 18 Dec 2016

Return to Johor Kaki homepage.

6 comments:

  1. Irresponsible websites!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Tony,
    Some say that copycat is a form of flattery, but the above is pure laziness and devoid of ideas to present something!

    ReplyDelete
  3. What recourse do you have, Tony? Is there any wayy we can help to expose and highlight their dishonest actions?

    Joe

    ReplyDelete
  4. Tony
    They are revising their Johor food site

    ReplyDelete
  5. This is blatantly stealing with the effort to removed your watermark.

    ReplyDelete
  6. This is the best advice on copyright. It has worked several times for me. Good luck!
    https://www.nosegraze.com/how-to-deal-with-plagiarism-dmca/

    ReplyDelete

I firmly believe that taste is subjective and so, warmly welcome differing viewpoints :-D But, I disapprove negative comments that are anonymous or hide behind fake identities. I feel that that is the same as speaking ill of others behind their backs. I look forward to all your comments :-D Thank you. (Date: 18 Dec 2015)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...